Hilton Heights/Clubview Heights
Charlie Frank Williams constructed his Colonial Revival house in 1938 on Hilton Avenue across from the Country Club of Columbus, and began developing Clubview Heights in the early 1940s. Brick bungalows displaying Tudor and classical details along the eastern end of Camille Drive date from that period. When the U.S. entered World War II, Williams turned his attention to building hundreds of barracks at Fort Benning. After the war, Williams built upscale homes here along streets named for his family members. The neighboring and larger subdivision to the south, Hilton Heights, created in 1949 by George Trussell and Hugh & Clara McMath, began along Hilton Avenue and after nine years and five additions reached the Lindsay Creek by-pass and the Cross County Plaza. Its initial houses tended to be red brick Linear Ranch Houses. As development moved eastward, both houses and lots became larger and by the 1960s included split-levels, mid-century moderns and Contemporary styles. These subdivisions remain a vibrant neighborhood with new owners continuously updating, renovating and rebuilding homes.